## What is the blacklist?
Blacklist is the list of recipients that either [opted-out](https://www.bulkgate.com/en/helpdesk/campaign/opt-out/) from receiving your campaign messages or you put them on the list yourself. Either way, once a recipient is on the list, no message will be sent to his/her phone number.

## What if I send a message to a recipient that is on the blacklist?
It can happen that you want to send a bulk message to a list of contacts and some of the recipients are on the blacklist. 

Even though the recipient from the blacklist is included in the **Valid recipients** of the final step (Review) of the campaign, he/she will not receive the message and you will therefore not be charged for it neither.

## How can I add somebody to the blacklist?
To add a recipient to blacklist:
1.	Go to `SMS & Viber Messaging` in the left menu
2.	Click `Blacklist`
3.	Add contacts manually by clicking `Add to blacklist` or import a list of contacts by clicking `Import numbers`

## Are recipients added automatically to blacklist?
You can add recipients [manually](#how-can-i-add-somebody-to-the-blacklist) to the blacklist or let them unsubscribe [automatically.](https://www.bulkgate.com/en/helpdesk/campaign/opt-out/) It all comes to what [opt-out option](https://www.bulkgate.com/en/helpdesk/campaign/opt-out/) you choose for your campaigns.

## What is the difference between Opt-out and Blacklist?

If you use the opt-out method, marketing messages will never be delivered to that phone number again. Transactional messages will remain unchanged and will continue to be delivered to that phone number.

If you blacklist the phone number, no more marketing or transactional messages will be delivered to that phone number.

